A day in the life of India

My experiments with Life

An enlightening question

with 3 comments

Yesterday i just happened to stumble upon a blog where someone was asking “Do we need religion?” I felt compiled to answer a “No”  being a atheist that would have been the obvious reaction, but just as i was going to do that, my rebellious mind rebelled against myself and forced me to make it a “yes”.  After putting some thought into it, i guessed this topic would make a good post.

Today morning i thought about posting in regard to the same topic (do we need religion?) but was feeling extraordinarily lazy to get myself onto it, then to warm myself up i was going thru some regular blogs and landed on http://lifeofanindianhomemaker.blogspot.com where a reference in regard to the same question was made and that lead me to this post. 
I have started believing now that a religion is needed, religion does provide a sense of belonging and binds people together which is a good thing and moreover when we look into what religion has given to us, we understand our culture, arts, our literature, magnificent architectures and the very idea of a common india is because of the religion. Various dance forms like kathakali and all are all linked to religion. We wouldnt have the ajanta, ellora, sun temple and other beautiful temples if not for the religion.  Also i like mahabharat a lot, i consider it to be the best story ever told.
To me now religion is ok, but i dont like the idea of god that is because i dont believe in God. I was opposed to all religious rituals and i hated religion till yesterday, its kind of an enlightening experience that changed my mindset. I have become a “moderate atheist”.  Now it seems ok if there is a religion and a god. This change in me was due to my default rebel nature, the blogger was suggesting that “we dont need religion” and rebel mind said we need and it gave reason to it, if some one would have suggested that we need a religion i would have said “we need not”.
“I am thankful to all those who said no, its because of them i did it myself” Einstein
Written by maya

January 7, 2009 at 11:35 am

Posted in my views, uncommon

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Maya that some one being me 🙂 let me take time to answer the question, I didn’t reply on the comments as I just wanted to know my readers thoughts. Well my problem with religion is people have forgotten the morale of the stories and only remember the stories. I am all for believing but hate and rituals get me. Also “my religion is better than yours” is just stupid.

    Chirag

    January 8, 2009 at 6:34 pm

  2. The question, whether religion is required or not, I cannot be decided so easily, because if we go by the criteria you have give like lots of good things are associated with it, then I think you should revisit the Indian history which can be clearly divided into various phases depending upon the religious conflicts and these conflicts are still going on world over and are increasing day by day. According to one estimate (I don’t remember the exact source) the number of people affected by partition of India (which was at least overtly done on the basis of religion)is more than that affected by the two world wars.

    Discussion Corner

    January 12, 2009 at 9:57 pm

  3. @ discussion corner. first of all hindusim was never a religion, it was just a way of life the people of ancient india followed. Its only when the other religions came in contact with then people of india, that this way of life became a religion. In ancient india there were atheists who were hindus, like wise i a m hindu atheist. Regarding the partition it was more a political thing rather than a religious. and i am glad that partition happened else it would have become a bigger problem by now. The vedas are self contradictory, they question about god’s existence.@chirag. i do agree that there are many problems with the religion and regarding our great epic stories, the problem is that most of us try to find a moral out of it, but i dont think any moral is needed to found from it, it should just be enjoyed as a good story like the same way we enjoy a good poetry

    Maya

    January 13, 2009 at 10:38 am


Leave a Reply

