A day in the life of India

My experiments with Life

Shirdi – Reloaded

with 4 comments

I am leaving for shirdi tommorow (i forgot the spelling of tommorrow and spell check is not working).. Recently i have been forgetting spellings quiet often or is it just that i am getting confused because i m now aware that some regular people will be reading and will laugh on my lack of hold on spellings.. ok its not about spelling that i have to write.

So why is an atheist going to shirdi and that too within a gap of less than 6 months, when i tell my friends they say u never enter a temple then why are you going to shirdi, last time my client called and i was in shirdi and he thought i was a devotee of shirdi and sent me a sai baba statue as diwali gift, i said crap! what am i gonna do with this but my parents were indeed happy to have it. Parents are always happy of me going to shirdi as others they would also say see “Baba is calling you again” they would point out the irony that they have wished to go to shirdi for quiet a long time but havent been able to and would add only those people whom the sai baba wants to meet are called (the so called Sai ka bulawa). Since it happend twice i cant stop noticing the coincidece that whenever those babas come knocking at door asking for alms saying that we have come from shirdi, within a week the trip gets automatically planned up. 
It just got planned yesterday when we were having a drink as usual at our ground (sanu ka ground).  Being in gujarat (Liquor Prohibited State) its always hard to find a good place to drink as we all live with parents. This is a really interesting ground sometime i am gonna do a post related to the activities that take place in this ground.  So we were as usual having our drink and R1 pointed out that he is having 3 days off at a stretch so shud plan out some outing. As its customary between us that we make a trip only by road and that too on bikes we started making suggestions within a 1000 k.m. range. I suggested Mount Abu and the other 2 Sai baba’s bhagats said shirdi so now the majority was with shirdi and i had to give in. 
Last time when i went to shirdi i didnt knew that i am going untill they called me in the evening asking to pack bags for 3 days and within half hour they were by my house to pick me. I didnt oppose to do this trip again this time because last time it was due to me that they say their trip got spoiled so i have to make up to them this time. It just so happend that last time i was high on heroin (of which i have come clean now) and all the way i was just sleeping, we were 4 people on 2 bikes and because of the fear of me falling from the back of bike while sleeping the other person had to come and sit behind me and the whole 600 Kms was covered in triple. 
So this journey signifies my departure from drugs to alcohol, Its a journey to reclaim whatever i had lost in those days in particular my memories. Basically we all are found of adventure, we believe that journey is more important than the destination. We dont think twice before trying to tread into the jungles , take a different route, taking a bath in the river on the way, thats why its always better to take bikes along. The fun part is we will be camping in the saputara jungle by the river, on the way. Plan is to do some shikaar and will roast that shikar, if we dont get a shikar every one is ready to go hungry( a bottle of whiskey is a must in such a case).  I expect some serious fun on the way and back..
let the  journey be the motive and not the destination.. (nice quote han, go ahead an quote me)

Written by maya

January 23, 2009 at 12:14 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi maya, when i started reading your post i thought u r going to sai baba temple and u r a religious guy.I am very poor in spellings and i read fast, so i do many mistakes, which i am not able to overcome.Good to know that u have left drugs.Have a fun filled holiday

    varunavi

    January 24, 2009 at 6:08 pm

  2. In summer hols I used to go to Mount Abu as my aunt used to live there. That was many many years back. I am sure the place must have changed a lot now.This doesnt look like a pilgrimage.

    L. Venkata Subramaniam

    January 25, 2009 at 12:49 am

  3. “So this journey signifies my departure from drugs to alcohol” This is bad ;). Anyways have a good trip, Von Voyage.

    Chirag

    January 27, 2009 at 2:26 pm

  4. I absolutely love mt. abu!

    secretdhaka

    February 9, 2009 at 3:45 am


Leave a Reply

