A day in the life of India

My experiments with Life

Identity

with 9 comments

When i decided to blog i knew i have to write as anonymous, having an identity would limit myself from writing personal things about family, friends, myself and my surrounding. In most post where i have talked about personal matters i make sure that i don’t reveal the identity because google can lead to exact blog with some keyword combinations..
After completing around 120 posts till date, i don’t feel as if i m anonymous, i believe the anonymous blogger takes on an identity, an identity in the minds of the readers which gets reflected back to the blogger and as the blogger keeps on blogging he realises that now he has an identity and he gets confined by its limitations. I write within the limitations of my new identity that has got created among the readers, the expectations of the readers dictate my choice of subjects (lol i m taking as if i have many readers, who expect something,, but i m talking in general) . I have never been an expert in any field, there is no such thing in which i am very good at, i m rather average at everything, so there is no specific theme to what i write, i just write whatever comes to my mind.
When i look at this whole social network, blogging, second life thing it seems that we are in constant search of finding ourselves but on a different platform, in earlier times we might have gone to woods in search of the truth but today we just search thru the wilderness that internet has become, in the haze of information we often get lost and sometimes we find purpose. we begin to express ourselves in blogs to create an identity by showing our skills, our thoughts and disclosing our daily life. we want to make our life public, we are trying to be like famous people without a private life, everyone knows everything about them.. we want our identity to be famous.. we want the world to know us. We talk about privacy on one hand and on other we are ready to update our details minute by minute on twitter and status messages.. What fun do we get by telling other what we are doing, seriously what do we want by wasting time at blogs, may be we are not satisfied with real life, or may be we are moving on to a next level.. a slow progress towards virtual reality where physical existence doesn’t matter. If you have been to secondlife.com and have been there for enuf time one would really start questioning about reality, and its purpose.
I think we are at a point where we would eventually realise what MAYA actually is, but at a different level with the help of technology..
Bookmark and Share
Written by maya

July 23, 2009 at 1:22 pm

Posted in my views, uncommon

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I always stay away from social networking. I have no Orkut/Facebook/Twitter profile.. well, i may have them but i certainly dont use them. the very thought of someone being able to trace me via google and read what i write gives me creeps. i am not very 'sharing' in real life… but as almost noone from my real life has any clue about my 'writer' side, i can freely express.living behind cozy masks is so easy… and so toughloved this post, Maya 🙂

    Chhaya

    July 23, 2009 at 3:33 pm

  2. i have had a real bad experience through this online networking thing and its memories are going to last a lifetime … but just because of that i dont think that i should stop myself from letting out my identity ( may be i am still not aware of greater consequences than the one i faced ) …

    vicious

    July 23, 2009 at 5:01 pm

  3. congrats on your 120 post!! great blog!!and as far as blogging is concerned, i feel it gives you a separate identity all together.. right?

    ♪♪HARINI♪♪

    July 23, 2009 at 8:05 pm

  4. congrats for your 120 posts…mujhe thodi lambi comment deni hai … lekin yahan nahi de paaunga….. sohttp://crazyyfun.blogspot.com/2009/07/comment-post-for-specially-topic.html yahan comment di hai aapke liye 🙂

    CrAzYy..! ;)

    July 23, 2009 at 9:45 pm

  5. @chhaya seems like we both have similar mindset, neither do i m too sharing, and nobody from real life knows about my blogging thing.. they are just not tht kind so i need not worry about them ever actually reading but still.. its very uncomfortable to remove the masks..@ vicious may be u shud write a post about tht incident if u feel comfortable abt it..@ harini, exactly it altogether gives a new identity.

    Uncommon Sense

    July 24, 2009 at 7:15 pm

  6. This was a wonderful account of how a person wishes to unfold. Online life has definitely its pros and cons. But that's life too … not really Maya, I think.I have enjoyed my short but beautiful online life. Not that I have a Facebook or Twitter to flaunt, my way of sharing was the writing that I did. Never felt shy writing about what I felt … and people have accepted it well. The murkier part? well, isn't real life dirty sometimes? 🙂

    IdleMind

    July 24, 2009 at 7:50 pm

  7. @ idle mindi agree with you, the online life makes sharing easier.. blogging also helps to preserve our thoughts at various point in time..

    Uncommon Sense

    July 25, 2009 at 9:51 am

  8. I too started blogging as an anonymous but later I felt like giving some of my details about me.. Congrats for completing 120 posts.. Keep writing and all the best for coming days.. 🙂

    Its my life

    July 30, 2009 at 11:08 pm

  9. thank you for sharing


Leave a Reply

