A day in the life of India

My experiments with Life

The pill…

with 16 comments

Last month when i was in kerala i made a big mistake, i spoiled a record in the making. Now its not some serious record but a personal one. When i was in 5th or 6th class i became terribly sick i couldn’t stop shitting, it went on for some 2 months. I had loose motions for a whole month, i would shit in bed itself without knowing, or on the way to toilet, slowly cough type of thing i was shitting, then i was shitting blood. It was pretty serious i had almost became a cage of bones. A doctor was being consulted all this while, he kept on giving different medicines but none will have any effect on me. At last it got cured with some medicine. Now every other day i was being taken to the doctor and he would charge his consulting fee. After a week he stopped taking fee, and when i was totally cured he gave back all the fee that was given to him. He said in this kind of case ppl generally change their doctors but since you trusted me through all these period i cant take the fee.
Now i had taken a whole lot of medicines during this period and none of them worked this incident asked me to question “The pill” does it really work?. After that for a long period i didn’t fell sick i would sometime have fever or head-ache, cold has always been a permanent disease. I stopped taking medicines for above mentioned normal illness. If i had headache or fever i would just suffer it out, and i would be back to normal in 2 – 3 days. I never went to doctor, i mean i never got any serious illness, the only time i went to doctor was when i would get fractured i.e. 5 to 6 times both my hands and both legs had been fractured, mostly in bike accident. The last was when i fell from tree and broke both my legs.. The doctor would also give medicine but i wouldn’t eat. And when we were into drugs one day all of our group decided to quit, most of them went for rehabilitation, those who didn’t had to go to hospital and get admitted as everyone had high temperatures, cold, pain in body, loose motion these are the normal withdrawal symptoms.. I alone suffered it out a home.
Now when i was in kerala, i was having gand phadu fever, i pulled along for a week with fever, now a week is the threshold. i wondered if its malaria, dengue or chicken guniya because there were a lot of mosquitoes there, also i was at a different place so i lost my conviction and took a paracetamol. Bhenchod! within half an hour the fever was gone. My first expression “Oh shit! pills do work, second expression “fuck, i shouldn’t have eaten it, my record is gone” All these years of chemical free body has just got it first consignment of chemical”.
My View
All these years, i had fever, head-ache, pain in the testicles, vomiting, loose-motions, pain in ears, bleeding gums, back pain, also i went mad one time (this story later) and many other things, but what i learnt is that if u can wait, it will go away on its own. And with every disease my conviction to not see a doctor or take medicine grew stronger. Don’t we have our own defense system against disease in our body, why do we have to pop that pill at the fall of an hat. Why do we have to go to the doctor, hasn’t the billion years of evolution made any arrangement for this. I m no doctor, and not some one who has a bit of knowledge of this field, but i have a mind that thinks, that questions do we really need to reach for that pill. We are taking the short-cut but as they say short-cut never works, u will repent a short cut. When we get sick the body fights the disease, and the next time its much more easier for the body to fight, it has now got experience in fighting so the chances are the next time you wont have the same disease, because now your body is immune to it, but if we take that pill, next time you will need the pill again + in more quantity. Now what will happen if u take pill every time the body will loose its natural defense system because it knows that u r going to pop a pill. The best thing to do is to allow your body to develop your own vaccine rather than making urself a chemical dump ground. Even the mosquitoes develop immunity to a repellent within some time, have u noticed that they dont die any more. Doesnt our body have the capacity to resist the disease.
I am not talking about not taking medicines for serious illness, but normal illness. We can decide today what is right, and i m sure these normal over the counter medicines will cause problem and lead to other diseases later in the life. Slowly the results are getting out, you can see the number of medicines that were the craze before getting banned these days. It will happen with all the medicines that we are taking today in future. And let me tell you normal home remedies works.
i have lot to say but will keep it short.
Bookmark and Share
Written by maya

September 27, 2009 at 12:36 pm

Posted in uncommon

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My mother would definitely take your side. She hates taking medicine. She is quite old, but looking at her enthusiasm and activities I feel that I am older than her! Even medical science agrees that the fever has to be treated as a friend for 24 hours before you decide to see a doctor. Common cold is curable with a lot of home remedies, and a head ache can be cured by a good and peaceful night's sleep.What I like most about this post is the openness. There has been no attempt to keep it diplomatic. The more I read your posts the more I start to like them, because they are as close to reality as it can get (just the little of "those" words that get me rattled, but nothing that takes the credit away from the reality they narrate ;)).-Vittal.

    Vittaldas Prabhu

    September 27, 2009 at 5:25 pm

  2. if my posts dont miss the food , yours dont miss the shit ..again a connection ..at the end both are same :Pi never took antibitics for fever n stuff and thriat infection ..never had painkillers inspite of severe migraine …once in my 1st year and i was at hostel , exams were on and i had this viral fever and the doc made me take 3 types of antibiotics that made me real weak and i was in bed for a month …

    vicious

    September 27, 2009 at 6:29 pm

  3. i absolutely hate taking the pills. i dont have any aversion to meds.. i just hate popping pills. i wud gladly take 10 injections to avoid one tablett :-/and yeah, no painkiller for me. ever. i have a very bad back and then add to it my always accident prone nature. i dont know how many stiches i have taken so far… hehehe.. so i know, if i start taking pills for pain, there is no end to it..and i hate being addicted to anything.. even relief.. PS: shit-land is back šŸ™‚ hehhei am thinking of starting a tag. like putting one topic on my blog that peole who write about in their own style.. it will be something for the members of Friends Park.. lets see

    Chhaya

    September 27, 2009 at 9:56 pm

  4. @ vittal. thanks for liking my way of writing, "those words" are used in all post most of the time without any use, its a notice to the reader about the nature of the blog as a whole.. a warning that if you cant take vulgarity in a lighter sense then better stay away…@ vici as if the food from your blog gets digested in cyber space and comes as shit in my blog..:)gd to know that u agree with my views..@ chhaya frankly speaking i excepted an opposition from u, but glad to know that u share the same views.. i m accident prone too but i never tore my skin only broke my bones, though i would have liked a nice scar, the scar is a story.. isnt it.u mean everyone writing on a predetermined topic? Thats a rocking idea, it will work

    Uncommon Sense

    September 28, 2009 at 11:50 am

  5. @Maya – i love scars.. and yes, as the saying goes, they have a better story than tattoos.. though i love tattoos too! i have broken bones and tore skin ..almost broke my backbone too.. lol..i know u are an atheist.. but still, Happy Dussera

    Chhaya

    September 28, 2009 at 12:32 pm

  6. @ chhaya hppy dussera to u to.. have a nice time.. i wud consider dussera as part of culture rather than religion so,, i dont mind celebrating..

    Uncommon Sense

    September 28, 2009 at 2:33 pm

  7. well… i try and avoid pills too… but a recurring back problem forces me to take pain killers once in a while. some of these things work. too much can be a prob… but once in a while is k i would think.

    AJai

    September 28, 2009 at 7:49 pm

  8. hey, why worry if you've popped one? life isn't exclusively pill-less, yet those wonder objects sometimes does a world of good to the body.Personally, I hate allopathic medicines (as most Indians do now!). But once in a while I do pop a paracetamol to make sure I'm back to work the next day (also hate sick leave).Overall, my intent is to remain away from them … but then will my life ever be devoid of pills? my freaking brains may know!

    IdleMind

    September 28, 2009 at 9:13 pm

  9. @ ajai, idle mindThanks for comments, i guess a pill sometimes is necessary but personally i would avoid it as much as possible..@chhaya u remind me of my sister, she just couldnt swallow the pills, parents had a hard time making her eat when she was small, still today she cant swallow and everytime she asks for injection..

    Uncommon Sense

    September 29, 2009 at 11:37 am

  10. I have to agree with you here. After a recent experience with pain killers for a minor surgery i decided to to stay away from hospitals until 2015(unless its a life or death situation). Lets see how it goes. Longest i went was for 7 years so don't think its impossible.

    Uday

    September 29, 2009 at 11:38 am

  11. @Maya – arrey i just hate the pills.. i can very well eat my food šŸ˜€

    Chhaya

    September 29, 2009 at 11:38 am

  12. @ Uday gd to know that some is striving like me to be pill free..

    Uncommon Sense

    September 29, 2009 at 11:45 am

  13. When Maya says you remind me of my sister.. i am not sure what to make out of it ;).

    Uday

    September 29, 2009 at 11:52 am

  14. u must be hinting at my rakshbandh post..lol

    Uncommon Sense

    September 29, 2009 at 1:35 pm

  15. Even I don't take pills. I've eaten so much food in hostel mess that my body is immune to all kinds of weird stuff.Better to suffer out the pain. Works most of time and what doesn't kill you only makes you stronger ;)N

    Nothingman

    October 2, 2009 at 6:37 am

  16. @nothing "what doesnt kill you only makes you stronger" so very true

    Uncommon Sense

    October 2, 2009 at 10:38 am


Leave a Reply

