A day in the life of India

My experiments with Life

About sparrows

with 13 comments

So it was “the world house sparrows” day on 20th March. I know i m late for this post, but better late than never. I generally dont subscribe to the idea of designating a particular day for some suffs. But then this one in particular is needed to create awareness. You may ask why havent i wrote about saving tiger, whales or other species and why i m in particular writing about saving sparrows. There is a simple logic, you and me cant do anything about tigers, whales or pandas. We are not in a position to do anything, just wasting our time blogging about them is just useless, its not going to change anything. But we can do our part in saving the sparrows especially since its summer. We can keep water in balconies, garden or terrace so that birds can quench their thirst. Thousands of birds die every summer because of thirst. We can help them by placing grains and water for them… Its not hard ,is it? i have been doing that since past 3 to 4 years. you will feel good. Also if you can put out water for dogs and other animals it will be really nice..

I dont know if sparrows are going extinct every where in the world, but i m sure they are in far lesser numbers now in India. Its not something i have read, but its what i have been noticing over the years, and every year they are becoming hard to spot.

I remember earlier they used to be in such a large number, roaming inside our home. One of the sparrow i remember it used to keep staring in the mirror and would fight with its reflection. I remember we used to switch off fans so that these sparrows dont get hurt while flying within the house, they used to build nests over the tube light, in the ventilator they were every where. Other than being really cute, they were very friendly, i had this sparrows that had become so friendly that it would come and sit on me. Back then i used to come across many injured birds, esp sparrows and bulbuls, i did a lot of engineering with their broken legs, no they didnt got cured, but it survived, we used to call it langda sparrow and it would regularly visit us.

You can also build card board nest for these birds. Read here what people are doing http://www.indianexpress.com/news/world-house-sparrow-day-on-march-20/591345/0

P.S. Even if a single person decides to keep water or do anything for the birds, the purpose of this post will be justified. If you have any idea to share, or if you have done anything do comment about it…

Written by maya

March 22, 2010 at 1:02 pm

Posted in personal diary

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yeah you are right..Sparrows..they used to be everywhere..and they too are disappearing cuz of lack of natural habitat..We are altering a whole lot of equation in the biosphere.Very nice post!

    Sorcerer

    March 22, 2010 at 8:52 pm

  2. I agree with the saving tiger, whale blah blah things. I mean ppl dont even see them in their regular life, how can they save them , stupid morons , All of them have f***ked up minds , I totally agree with ur approach, i used to do it when i was at my home, will start now also 🙂

    Lincoln

    March 23, 2010 at 1:41 pm

  3. i wud have loved to keep water on my balcony, but dusht Pigeons come and do potty on the banister and the floor :(i cant handle poo on my balcony… so i guess Sparrows will have to forgive me.

    Chhaya

    March 23, 2010 at 9:25 pm

  4. Not sparrows in Chennai. Only Crows. Though they are also God's creatures and all that jazz the idea of putting water out for them is not to my liking at all. I try and do something for a stray dog/cat that I come along. Hell… I think I'll start for the crows too. Everyone needs some respite from the heat. Thanks… you really made me think about it.

    AJai

    March 24, 2010 at 1:58 am

  5. very nice post.just remembered once we shared home with themthanks

    sm

    March 24, 2010 at 3:00 am

  6. Great thought of keeping water for birds in summer. I had already done that. Feeding them with some food or grains can also help.Nice post! 🙂

    Chandrika Shubham

    March 24, 2010 at 11:10 am

  7. I recently saw a text message where the sender urged the recipient to place bowls of water in the balcony or terrace. I thought it was spam, but it is serious. I would love to do it, but my excuse is that I live in a rented house on the first floor, sandwiched between a house in the ground and one on top of us. I wouldn't know if my Landlords would take me kindly if I did it and the birds dirtied their terrace!But I think the idea is quite novel and guys with their own houses can do their bit. This is purely voluntary so there is no way I or anyone else can force anyone in carrying out the recommendation, especially when I myself have some excuses for not doing it.

    Vittaldas Prabhu

    March 25, 2010 at 4:13 pm

  8. You remind me of a childhood habit … to feed sparrows, pigeons, crows … and so on. Birds are sweet and soft and definitely cute to adore. Good that you provoke people to contribute to a nice cause.This is a nice awareness, one that goes completely with my heart and mind!

    IdleMind

    March 25, 2010 at 6:37 pm

  9. Remember my childhood when sparrows used to enter our house through windows and pick up the grains on the floor. Now I hardly see them in my village. They are such cute creatures.And definitely awareness is needed to avoid extinction!!!

    sweelie

    March 26, 2010 at 2:38 pm

  10. I used to keep water and food when we were in Pune, now I better buy a large flat clay bowl and some bajra, till then I am using plastic bowls we got gajjar ka halwa home delivered in.I have been preoccupied with other stuff, this post is a good reminder. Yes, I am going to keep food and water for birds and stray animals at and near my place…

    indianhomemaker

    March 27, 2010 at 10:54 am

  11. Arey nice one yaar…i too miss sparrows….bachpan me bahut jyada aaspass uda karte the…

    abhishek

    March 28, 2010 at 11:49 pm

  12. in the house I have in the Rock mountains, there are many birds that come to the trees that are in the backyard and in front of the house and I always hear the little sparrows singing

    Sildenafil Citrate

    September 16, 2010 at 11:30 pm

  13. hi I am From Meerut (uttar pradesh) from last 2 weeks every day i place water and bajra on my house roof but cant spot any sparrow what else i can do?? only some pigeons are visiting
    I want to see sparrow back in my locality

    aksh

    April 7, 2015 at 3:41 pm


Leave a Reply

