A day in the life of India

My experiments with Life

Ladki dekhing #4 : Compatibility

with 15 comments

As i told before parents have been ladki dekhing on their own and saving me the trouble. But this time they had talked with ladki walas and they said to bring the boy (i wonder if i still can be called a boy) too so that a second visit might not be needed. The girl was from bua’s reference so we 4, parents bua and me went there. They had a very very small house, but were building a very very big house just behind it, the girl didnt had a father he died long time before, 1 bro in dufai and another was there when we reached their house.

Went into the house, took the place at the very corner like a pup afraid in a new house, it was dark in there, was a small room, i was wondering would the girl be able to see me here, or would she just see my teeth? it reminded me of the happy dent ad, i thought what if my teeth would start glowing in the darkness.  there was this needle on the table, started playing with it to distract myself from the funny thoughts..my father started bundle baazi, and every one came around to hear the stories. Then the girl came with sharbat, she stood at the door and looked at me, she looked strong, she looked as if she was evaluating me. So i was wondering is it the time for me to start the Q&A session, but no body was giving me a cue, and i was waiting for someone to nudge me or something so that i can vomit my regular stock of questions which is by heart. I was ready with the rhyme like a student before the teacher. But my parents asked the question, whats your name? and what are you studying?.. she said she was doing bcom and i dont remember her name now. Then they nudged me to ask something.. what am i supposed to ask now, they have already asked the question that i was going to ask.. that reminded of this tuition that i used to go to in 10th.. during science class the tuition master would ask question and each of us was to state one of the points,, but the points that i knew was always answered by someone else, so at the end when it was my chance i would have no point, then he would say..u cant remember a single point?..

So i said you people have already asked all the questions, at which they all laughed. The girl still stood there unsure of whether she should go or wait.. i was looking down and playing with the needle. And suddenly like a lightning bolt i heard “whats your name”.. i didnt expect that, previous girls didnt ask any questions so i didnt knew she would be asking, i  told my name and smiled, then she asked another one.. what do you do? i stumbled and said.. webdesigning and stuff.. yes thats what i say, standard reply “web designing”.. because its something that people might understand, and could be explained how that stuff can be done from home. People are always confused when they hear that i work from home, they ask what kind of work is that, so i thought k webdesigning will be simpler to explain. And since i m into similar field, its not exactly a lie.. that was it, the question session was over, this time the asker became the answerer. We left and i felt as if i just came out of an interview.

Then they had given the details of rashi. Father went to astrologer next day, they said it wont work because the girl is more stronger than the boy, which is not exactly a suitable match.. the boy should have stronger rashi. I knew that this girl is very strong, she will keep me in her control with her chabook. I m even afraid she would beat me.. sacchi. My younger sister has same rashi, and she beats me. Its because i annoy her first but still.. i m one who gets beaten in a fight. And my sister is hot tempered too, everyone is afraid of her. So as you can see i couldnt have married this girl if atall they would have agreed, which ofcourse they didnt agree to. And i easily feel intimidated by people, and i think she would keep me as her slave.. and since i m a free person who needs to do things as he wishes, this cant work.

So my father decided to take a second opinion and this astrologer said the same, he said you can go ahead if you want, but traditionally that wont be an ideal match..So my father called them and informed about the incompatibility and said that we dont have much problem with that.. but they had other complaints.. the girl said the guy didnt seem to be interested, it seemed like his parents were forcing him to marry, and he didnt talk anything, why is that, and what kind of work he does, i dont want a home working guy, i will marry only  a teacher, that too a sarkari one..

You see lot of complaints, i could have earlier said to my father that i m not interested in marrying since the astrologer said so and so,, but i wanted to hear more.. what they thought, so i didnt tell anything.. i waited.. to make mockery of my self.. my father declared to my mother after keeping down the phone.. ” its impossible to find a girl for your son”, and my mother got all defensive.. what wrong with my son, he is good lucking, he earns good, everyone says he is so intelligent… and the list goes on,, since a mother’s tongue never falls short in describing the virtues of her son..

And why do i make mockery of myself by describing all this here… i dont know.

Written by maya

April 4, 2011 at 1:25 pm

Posted in personal diary

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I wish and pray soon you will get a ladki for marriage… have faith and wait for Little OK… :)And one thing, you are not making mockery of yourself, you are sharing you life's little experiences… 🙂

    Asma Khan

    April 4, 2011 at 2:42 pm

  2. @asma..yeh i know i will get a ladki.. its normal delay,, the more delayed it gets.. the more story to share.. its all good.. and i m not really in any hurry i have time..

    Maya

    April 4, 2011 at 5:04 pm

  3. awww ..cute 🙂

    vicious

    April 4, 2011 at 5:16 pm

  4. "like a pup afraid in a new house"…"she will keep me in her control with her chabook"…high quality satire, my friend 🙂

    abhishek

    April 4, 2011 at 5:20 pm

  5. @vici, @abhi thanks

    Maya

    April 4, 2011 at 6:44 pm

  6. Dude, your experiences sometimes make me wonder what will happen to me when I go ladki dekhing 😛

    Owen

    April 4, 2011 at 9:02 pm

  7. Dude, your experiences sometimes make me wonder what will happen to me when I go ladki dekhing 😛

    Owen

    April 4, 2011 at 9:02 pm

  8. @owen… will make a good topic for your cartoons

    Maya

    April 5, 2011 at 2:52 pm

  9. ladki dekhing programenjoyed it readingladka meeting talking lol

    sm

    April 6, 2011 at 10:08 am

  10. @Maya That's a nice idea, man! I might try some time 🙂

    Owen

    April 6, 2011 at 11:52 pm

  11. koi na maya, sabka number aata hai 😀 tera bhi aayega :DN

    Nothingman

    April 8, 2011 at 12:53 am

  12. These ladki-dekhing posts have added a new dimension to your page. Keep the humour in them, after all it is the start of a very basic function of life!

    IdleMind

    April 10, 2011 at 6:22 pm

  13. @nothing.. yeh man number to aana hi hai..@idle.. thnx, and humour will be very important to keep this basic function functioning..

    Maya

    April 11, 2011 at 10:42 am

  14. ya khuda, I will have to ladka dekho soon

    Miss shekh chilli

    August 20, 2011 at 7:33 pm

  15. Ya, khuda, I will have to ladka dekho soon

    Miss shekh chilli

    August 20, 2011 at 7:34 pm


Leave a Reply

